CBT - advice :)

Anything you like about motorbikes
Tigs

CBT - advice :)

Post by Tigs »

Hi I'm hoping you can throw some advice at me :)

I'm a car driver - I did attempt to get a bike licence a long time ago - I rode for around a year - before life got in the way and I had to give up!

I've decided i'm going to try again - how likely am I to remember what I was doing ??

If you were in my position would you get a 50cc scooter - and use school models to get my CBT and A licences - or should i buy a 125cc - and use that for a while before going for a licence.. Should I build up or go direct access...

So many questions - and no real clue!!
KungFooBob

Re: CBT - advice :)

Post by KungFooBob »

If you're old enough to do DAS and you have the cash, then I'd suggest a 'guaranteed pass' type course, they'll give you as much training/bike time as you'll need to pass both modules of the full test. They tend to be a bit spendy tho'
Supermofo

Post by Supermofo »

If you rode a lot for a year you might find some comes back to you fairly quickly, else it might not. I guess you won't know till you try.

I suppose you have 2 options. Buy nothing and use school stuff to get a licence and then buy whatever you can, that might avoid you buying a 125cc at all. Or decided to get a smaller bike for short term. If it's something you are unsure of seeing through then a 125cc might be a good idea. Loads around and easy to sell if it doesn't work out. It'll also allow you to actually do some riding without shelling a load of cash on tests first and see if you like it. Plus there is nothing like riding to get experience so with a 125 you can do a CBT and practice whenever you like. With only school stuff you have to wait for lessons.