Freesat recorders

Count Steer
Posts: 922
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2021 4:59 pm
Location: Top o' the world Ma.
Has thanked: 751 times
Been thanked: 397 times

Freesat recorders

Post by Count Steer »

It looks like the hard drive on my Humax Freesat recorder has lunched itself. :( Any recs for what to replace it with?

Don't need bells and whistles but needs to record HD, 2 channel (watch/record at the same time), 500Gb min.

It is quite old but has been good so I'm OK with Humax again but wondered if there's better out there.

Thanks. :thumbup:
My spine is the bass line.
Zimbo
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 5:04 pm
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by Zimbo »

Humax is still the best I think, if you simply replace the hard drive in your existing one will it revive itself I wonder? Apparently quite a simple replacement, there are YouTube videos available. Possible upgrade to an SSD perhaps?
Count Steer
Posts: 922
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2021 4:59 pm
Location: Top o' the world Ma.
Has thanked: 751 times
Been thanked: 397 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by Count Steer »

Zimbo wrote: Tue Oct 12, 2021 7:30 pm Humax is still the best I think, if you simply replace the hard drive in your existing one will it revive itself I wonder? Apparently quite a simple replacement, there are YouTube videos available. Possible upgrade to an SSD perhaps?
Thanks Zimbo. I like the Humax too and, reading around, it looks like it has the best user interface. An SSD? I like your thinking. :thumbup: (I bought my wife a tower PC with an SSD C: drive and it's tip-top). It's certainly something I can tackle and if it doesn't work I can use the SSD for something else. :D

I can't work out if Humax are still making them. Their web site suggests so but they seem to have lost the contract to make Freesat branded boxes and Amazon have lots of reconditioned ones.
My spine is the bass line.
User avatar
the_priest
Posts: 837
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 2:18 pm
Location: Dwelling in Welling
Has thanked: 915 times
Been thanked: 760 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by the_priest »

I have an ancient Humax that is still working! You've reminded me to swap it over to an SSD before the HDD goes pop. I cannot remember if it is SATA, I think it might be, so cloning the HDD to an SSD will work and I can get a bigger one in there as well.
Proverbs 17:9
One who forgives an affront fosters friendship, but one who dwells on disputes will alienate a friend.
Count Steer
Posts: 922
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2021 4:59 pm
Location: Top o' the world Ma.
Has thanked: 751 times
Been thanked: 397 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by Count Steer »

I got it working again! All recordings intact and recording again. :thumbup:

However, I have prepared for the HDD failing again and can replace it pretty smartish if it does. (Not worried about losing what's on there and have tidied up the old recordings so there's only about 5% of the disk space used). Having had a delve it looks like you could keep one going for years as long as they don't become totally obsolete tech.
My spine is the bass line.
Felix
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2021 12:34 am
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by Felix »

My old Youview box (Huawei) is still running strong and can be set to record to HDD or SD card. Redundant now or relegated to bedroom as bought an Android TV and can record to USB but only a 7 day timer if i am reading the manual correct.
Mussels
Posts: 1314
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 9:02 pm
Has thanked: 281 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by Mussels »

If the machine works fine on a standard drive is there much point in paying extra for SSD?
Count Steer
Posts: 922
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2021 4:59 pm
Location: Top o' the world Ma.
Has thanked: 751 times
Been thanked: 397 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by Count Steer »

Mussels wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:52 am If the machine works fine on a standard drive is there much point in paying extra for SSD?
Not really other than quieter, faster and likely to last longer. None of which are much of an issue tbh but I'd probably put a smaller SSD in than the 1Tb drive. Looking at current useage 10% of that would be enough if I kept it tidy.
My spine is the bass line.
Count Steer
Posts: 922
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2021 4:59 pm
Location: Top o' the world Ma.
Has thanked: 751 times
Been thanked: 397 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by Count Steer »

Well, it conked again and replacing the HDD drive really is a piece of cake...but...looking at the how to's on Youtube, replacing it wasn't a sure fire fix, so rather than cough up for a new 1Tb Video format drive I've ordered a new Freeview branded box. (One chap showed exactly the screen I was getting, replaced the drive and still no joy). I may tinker with it at some point or try a usb plug-in HDD drive but it is rather old. I'll report back on the new box if anyone is interested. :D
My spine is the bass line.
Mr Moofo
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2020 1:41 pm
Location: Brightonish
Has thanked: 501 times
Been thanked: 427 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by Mr Moofo »

Count Steer wrote: Wed Oct 20, 2021 3:58 pm Well, it conked again and replacing the HDD drive really is a piece of cake...but...looking at the how to's on Youtube, replacing it wasn't a sure fire fix, so rather than cough up for a new 1Tb Video format drive I've ordered a new Freeview branded box. (One chap showed exactly the screen I was getting, replaced the drive and still no joy). I may tinker with it at some point or try a usb plug-in HDD drive but it is rather old. I'll report back on the new box if anyone is interested. :D
After reading this I have just plugged my Freesat box is - just trying to see if it has any purpose :-)
User avatar
DefTrap
Posts: 1192
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 8:23 am
Has thanked: 658 times
Been thanked: 543 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by DefTrap »

I didn't think anyone bothered recording anything these days ...
User avatar
Skub
Posts: 3922
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 5:32 pm
Location: Norn Iron
Has thanked: 3271 times
Been thanked: 2844 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by Skub »

DefTrap wrote: Wed Oct 20, 2021 4:22 pm I didn't think anyone bothered recording anything these days ...
I don't ever watch anything live. I dunno how usual/unusual that is.
User avatar
DefTrap
Posts: 1192
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 8:23 am
Has thanked: 658 times
Been thanked: 543 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by DefTrap »

Skub wrote: Wed Oct 20, 2021 4:27 pm
I don't ever watch anything live. I dunno how usual/unusual that is.
Me, not so much either. Most is from an on demand player though - Netflix, iPlayer, 4OD etc
Count Steer
Posts: 922
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2021 4:59 pm
Location: Top o' the world Ma.
Has thanked: 751 times
Been thanked: 397 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by Count Steer »

I use some of the apps like iPlayer, Prime etc but I find it any easy way to binge-watch series, sometimes weeks after they've been on. Not always possible with the apps. Also to grab the occasional film that I may watch more than once (although if I'm that interested I'll usually buy the DVD/Blu-ray if it's available).

Also, if I have to have the box, it might as well have record capability.
My spine is the bass line.
Mr Moofo
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2020 1:41 pm
Location: Brightonish
Has thanked: 501 times
Been thanked: 427 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by Mr Moofo »

Count Steer wrote: Wed Oct 20, 2021 4:51 pm I use some of the apps like iPlayer, Prime etc but I find it any easy way to binge-watch series, sometimes weeks after they've been on. Not always possible with the apps. Also to grab the occasional film that I may watch more than once (although if I'm that interested I'll usually buy the DVD/Blu-ray if it's available).

Also, if I have to have the box, it might as well have record capability.
I can see the attraction of never having to use ITV Hub ever again, as the huge time given over to ad breaks is a PITA
User avatar
Horse
Posts: 4219
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:30 am
Location: Always sunny southern England
Has thanked: 1882 times
Been thanked: 1670 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by Horse »

Mr Moofo wrote: Wed Oct 20, 2021 9:07 pm I can see the attraction of never having to use ITV Hub ever again, as the huge time given over to ad breaks is a PITA
"Your programme will start in 200 seconds" (as we had this evening)
Vs
Fast forward through the ads.
Count Steer
Posts: 922
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2021 4:59 pm
Location: Top o' the world Ma.
Has thanked: 751 times
Been thanked: 397 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by Count Steer »

Ok. It's here. 'Freesat Recordable 4K TV Box - 1Tb'

First impressions - it's half the size of the Humax, there's no info screen on it nor any tell-tale light to show it's on. The 12v power supply is built into the plug which is a very minor pain as they never seem to make them the right way round to go in a multi-socket surge protected block without blocking another socket so I plugged it into a spare wall socket without trying to reach the block.

5 mins max plugging it all in. A few mins set-up with the wi-fi etc. You can add an app to your phone to record stuff remotely bit I didn't bother.

What's to say? It works. The guide and UI is v similar to the Humax. You don't appear to be able to do 'record+5mins', you can fast forward through adverts in a recording but I think you have to 'take a run at it' ie if the ads have started during replay you can't but you can go back a bit and start FF. I'll check but have FF'd through 20 mins of something - through the ads. It has quite a few On Demand apps built in - iPlayer, Prime, 4oD etc etc. (But so does the TV, I suppose you can record while watching if you wanted to). That's it really, same 170 channels of crap. :lol:
My spine is the bass line.
Mr Moofo
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2020 1:41 pm
Location: Brightonish
Has thanked: 501 times
Been thanked: 427 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by Mr Moofo »

but still no channel 4 HD
Count Steer
Posts: 922
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2021 4:59 pm
Location: Top o' the world Ma.
Has thanked: 751 times
Been thanked: 397 times

Re: Freesat recorders

Post by Count Steer »

Mr Moofo wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 5:27 pm but still no channel 4 HD
No. C4 won't pay the price for HD (or All4) to be on the platform. However, a quick search of the Internet suggests that there's a frig that you can do with manual tuning of your box. Haven't tried it so don't know if it works (or have the foggiest of why/how it should work unless you can somehow tap other channels from the satellite - it does transmit a lot of other stuff).
My spine is the bass line.