Ethernet to WIFI

User avatar
Yorick
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2020 8:20 pm
Location: Paradise
Has thanked: 1396 times
Been thanked: 1397 times

Ethernet to WIFI

Post by Yorick »

The Wifi extenders don't work very well in the villa coz there are 3 distinct electrical circuits. The sparky explained it better than that.
He suggested using long ethernet cables to the top floor and the basement. I can do that.

Then the TVs on each floor will get enough flow for the 4K TV boxes :)

But can I plug the cables into something that the TV box can plug into, that will also 'create' WIFI for phones and laptops etc?

Gracia :)
Mussels
Posts: 664
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 9:02 pm
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 227 times

Re: Ethernet to WIFI

Post by Mussels »

A wireless bridge will do that but finding what you want in vague marketing speak could be difficult.
User avatar
Yorick
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2020 8:20 pm
Location: Paradise
Has thanked: 1396 times
Been thanked: 1397 times

Re: Ethernet to WIFI

Post by Yorick »

Mussels wrote: Mon Apr 05, 2021 1:47 pm A wireless bridge will do that but finding what you want in vague marketing speak could be difficult.
The WIFI from the modem is only about 30mb so that won't extend to the other floors, so that's why I was advised to use a cable. The modem kicks out 100Mb via ethernet.
User avatar
DefTrap
Posts: 561
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 8:23 am
Has thanked: 327 times
Been thanked: 313 times

Re: Ethernet to WIFI

Post by DefTrap »

Just use another router
User avatar
DEADPOOL
Posts: 423
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 11:13 pm
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 107 times

Re: Ethernet to WIFI

Post by DEADPOOL »

Something like this would do: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Netgear-Orbi ... SwZ~9gZjmF

You don't really want a router, a switch is what you're after. A switch will let your main internet hub sort out the routing just by plugging in ethernet but then you'd need a WiFi repeater. That's a bit of extra faff as is disabling the router function so that you have one single WiFi SSID.

Stick to a good known named brand like Netgear. The cheapo noname Chinese stuff is often infested with spyware. No tinfoil hat required, it is a well known modus operandi especially for webcams.

Find a local spod to set up your network and internet security and ideally, get yourself a VPN. The game is afoot. Your digital life is such rich pickings for bank accounts, pension schemes, eBay, PayPal, credit card info etc. it is where the modern criminals make their money. From their bedrooms or as often as not, a purpose built government sponsored agency. /tinfoilhat
User avatar
Tricky
Posts: 556
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2020 9:46 pm
Location: Chilterns
Has thanked: 728 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Ethernet to WIFI

Post by Tricky »

DefTrap wrote: Mon Apr 05, 2021 2:11 pm Just use another router
This- and it's exactly what I've done at my place- I re-purposed an old ADSL router as a wireless access point- it has 4 x ethernet ports on it, one is cabled back to my internet router leaving me 3 x ports to plug my cameras, etc into, and it also acts as a wireless access point extending my WiFi out to the garage etc and cost feck all

Pretty much any old ADSL or cable router will do as long as you have admin access to it- You ideally need a very basic knowledge of TCP/IP to do it, but not essential-all you have to do is assign it a static address on your network and disable the DHCP server within it - there are plenty of how-tos out there

Edit:- here ya go, this explains what to do.
http://www.techlineinfo.com/how-to-use- ... oint-only/
User avatar
DefTrap
Posts: 561
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 8:23 am
Has thanked: 327 times
Been thanked: 313 times

Re: Ethernet to WIFI

Post by DefTrap »

Yeah I've got two further routers running off ethernet ports of my main router.

One is a VPN router so I can watch Brit telly.

The other is literally just a bridged extension to get a WiFi in my office, which is too far and too many stone walls for the normal WiFi.

And I have spare routers, so ..
Mussels
Posts: 664
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 9:02 pm
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 227 times

Re: Ethernet to WIFI

Post by Mussels »

Yorick wrote: Mon Apr 05, 2021 2:07 pm
Mussels wrote: Mon Apr 05, 2021 1:47 pm A wireless bridge will do that but finding what you want in vague marketing speak could be difficult.
The WIFI from the modem is only about 30mb so that won't extend to the other floors, so that's why I was advised to use a cable. The modem kicks out 100Mb via ethernet.
A wireless bridge works both ways so you could use the Ethernet part to connect to upstairs. Most routers will do this as well as others have said. I have a powerline one that will do it and ignore the powerline part. The problem comes from interpreting what it says on the box as not all routers or powerlines will work like that.
Easiest is probably finding a router that says it works for cable as well as adsl because cable is just an Ethernet port. Ideally the router will have bridging mode, it will still work in router mode but you could have issues connecting equipment on different parts of your network.
User avatar
Yorick
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2020 8:20 pm
Location: Paradise
Has thanked: 1396 times
Been thanked: 1397 times

Re: Ethernet to WIFI

Post by Yorick »

We spoke to Movistar and they fixed and updated the higher frequency port in their modem. More options now :)
Screenshot_20210405-163011_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20210405-163011_Chrome.jpg (187.43 KiB) Viewed 188 times
User avatar
Yorick
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2020 8:20 pm
Location: Paradise
Has thanked: 1396 times
Been thanked: 1397 times

Re: Ethernet to WIFI

Post by Yorick »

I'm a bit confused why we get better reception via wifi than ethernet. The TV and laptop both show 90 ish via cable, but WIFI is 50% more.

???
Mussels
Posts: 664
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 9:02 pm
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 227 times

Re: Ethernet to WIFI

Post by Mussels »

That's unusual, to do speed tests accurately you need to have everything else turned off that could use your bandwidth.
Part of your Ethernet may be stuck on 100Mb with the rest matching that speed, I'd still use Ethernet as that's plenty of speed and more stable than WiFi.
User avatar
Tricky
Posts: 556
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2020 9:46 pm
Location: Chilterns
Has thanked: 728 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Ethernet to WIFI

Post by Tricky »

Yorick wrote: Mon Apr 05, 2021 4:39 pm I'm a bit confused why we get better reception via wifi than ethernet. The TV and laptop both show 90 ish via cable, but WIFI is 50% more.

???
@Yorick - The limit on your wired devices ( both wired and wireless are actually called ethernet, they are just using a different transmission medium), is 100Mbps (million bits per second) hence why you're only seeing 90ish -it's not " better reception" it is down to an IEEE standard speed that defines the rate that the information is transmitted at.


On your wired connections, this speed of transmission between your TV/Laptop and the router is hence 100Mbps, but your wireless will likely be operating at 154Mbps or possibly more dependant upon the age/spec of the router and network adapters in your wireless end devices.

In practice for a home user the 100Mb limit of your wired connections will not make any perceivable difference to you unless you are constantly downloading very large volumes of data- the network the other side of your router (ie Movistar and onwards) in reality will usually be the limiting factor, as you will be competing for / sharing that bandwidth with many others.
Mr Moofo
Posts: 752
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2020 1:41 pm
Location: Brightonish
Has thanked: 278 times
Been thanked: 264 times

Re: Ethernet to WIFI

Post by Mr Moofo »

Buy a TP Link Deco Mesh system. They work very well ...